The National Watercolor Society is one of the oldest non-profit artist-led societies in the United States.  Our mission - encouraging innovation in watermedia through education, outreach, and exhibitions - promote the advancement of watermedia and inspire the next generation of watermedia artists.  Be sure to check out the EXHIBITIONS and VIDEO Tabs.


ZOOM SESSION - DECEMBER 11, 2020

@ 11:00am Pacific / 2:00pm Eastern / 7:00pm London / 8:00pm France

Log in - https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83889846076

Meeting ID: 838 8984 6076  (no password)

"Entering Exhibitions, CAFE Tips and Q&A"

Panel Discussion with 

Valli McDougle

Justine Chapel from CAFE

Penny Hill

Judy Saltzman

NWS 100th International Open Exhibition

https://youtu.be/4kx1X-lAREc





NWS: The First 100 Years at Hilbert Museum of California Art



The artwork spans a century of National Watercolor Society’s (formally California Watercolor Society) artists and artwork with a unique combination of juried current NWS members' paintings, alongside curated works from the Hilbert Museum of CA Art. Through the artwork you get a glimpse of life through the eyes of artists spanning a century. 


We will begin with a fascinating discussion Juror/curator Ken Goldman, NWS past President, and Mark Hilbert, Founder of the Hilbert Museum of Ca Art, on how the artwork was chosen and how got his start as a collector and as well as what he looks for as a collector.

 

Video from Denise Willing-Booher, NWS President

https://youtu.be/IPddRWkITQw

If you missed 

TEACHING ART VIRTUALLY

with Panelist Matthew Bird, Kathleen Mooney, Randy Hall,

Stephanie Goldman and Ken Goldman

click here for their handouts and notes


    


VIDEO OPPORTUNITIES  

Watch the videos below through Teachable

Carla O'Connor, AWS, NWS

Are You In or Out?

CLICK HERE  for this 45 minute FREE talk.

 

Click here for Geoff McCormack - NWS Gallery Walk (Free)


Click here for a 2 for 1 Creative Bundle

featuring Geoffrey McCormack and Linda A. Doll


Join Us Today

With an exciting vision and a new appreciation for an old art form, the California Water Color Society was founded in 1920. As the country grew, painters found inspiration in the expansive western lands and were, in their way, pioneers of a new spirit.

The name of the society has changed twice since that time: first in 1967, to California National Watercolor Society; then in 1975, when the members voted to become simply the National Watercolor Society.




NWS Members are eligible for member discounts from our Sponsors!  


Don't forget to check the Member Discounts page for new specials!


Click here for more information:


Member Discounts



Online Donation goal

41%
Goal:
$100,000.00
Collected:
$40,631.00
We welcome your donation in any amount. You may also use this link to donate to our Annual Exhibition Awards Fund.