Log in


2018 NWS Annual International Exhibition



From the images entered by 850 artists, paintings from 91 artists were accepted for display in the NWS Gallery. 


Carla O'ConnorChair

Linda Daly Baker

Michael Schlicting


Carla O'ConnorChair

Linda Doll

Charles Rouse

Exhibition was in NWS Gallery - October 4th - December 16th, 2018

Over $40,000 in Purchase Awards, Cash & Merchandise Awards
were presented for artists for paintings selected by

 D. Scott Atkinson

Awards were donated by NWS Donors and Sponsors.

2018 NWS Awards

NWS Purchase Award

 Julio Jorge, Portugal

NWS Masters Award I

 Kai-Ting Sung , Taiwan

NWS Masters Award II

 Peter Jablokow, IL

Loa Ruth Sprung Award (Non-Objective Subjective)

 Silvia Monge, Costa Rica

Blick Art Materials Purchase Award

 Nancy Stark, VA

Cheap Joe's Art Stuff Purchase Award

 Kris Preslan, OR

Stan Green: Beverly Green Memorial Purchase Award

 Trish Mayberry, AZ

Winsor & Newton Award; ColArt Americas, Inc. Cash Award A Patron since 1965

 Geoffrey McCormack, OR

NWS Past Presidents Award

Jack Richeson & Co. Inc. Award 1

American Frame Corporation Merchandise Award

 Ingrid Albrecht, IL

Kanuga Watermedia Workshop Award

HK Hobein Artist Materials Merchandise Award I

Royal & Langnickle Brush Co. Merchandise Award

 Cathy Hegman, MS

Alice Leonard Memorial Award

Jack Richeson & Co. Merchandise Award II

Stonehenge Aqua & Yupo Merchandise Award donated by Legion Paper

 Bonnie Woods, CA

Henry and Fujiko Fukuhara Memorial Cash Award, donated by Grace Niwa

Cheap Joe's Art Stuff Merchandise Award

Creative Catalyst Productions Merchandise Award I

 Carolyn Lord, CA

International Society of Experimental Artists (ISEA) Cash Award

Mijello Watercolor/Indigo Art Paper Merchandise Award, donated by Chartpak Inc.

Frame Destination Merchandise Award I

 Debby Marriott, FL

Watercolor West Reciprocal Cash Award

Salis International Inc./Dr. Ph. Martin's Merchandise Award I

The Brush Guys Merchandise Award  I

 Dean Mitchell, FL

Philadelphia Water Color Society Cash Award for Excellence

Masterpak Merchandise Award

Ampersand Aquabord Award

 Keiko Yasuoka, TX

Watercolor USA Honor Society Cash Award of Excellence

M. Graham & Co. Merchandise Award

Frame Destination Merchandise Award II

 Helen Hayes, CA

Jeanette Thayer Schmidt Memorial Cash Award, donated by Valli  Thayer McDougle

QoR Watercolor Merchandise Award, donated by Golden Artist Colors Inc.

 Zhou Tianya, China

Watercolor Artist Magazine Cash Award

Rosemary & Co. Artists Brushes Merchandise Award

 Lian Mie Tsai, Twain

Artwork Archive Lifetime Subscription Merchandise Award

Gold Coast Watercolor Society-Florida Cash Award

Creative Catalyst Productions Merchandise Award II

 Kathleen Alexander, HI

75 Daniel Smith Extra Fine Watercolors Merchandise Award donated by JJC Ind./Daniel Smith

Lori Pitten Jenkins Cash Award

SunEden Artists Gear Merchandise Award

 Ratindra Das, IL

Canson/Maimeri Merchandise Award Merchandise Award donated by FILA Group

Frame Destination Merchandise Award III & IV

Will Bullas Cash Award 

 Soon Y. Warren, TX

Savoir-Faire, Fabriano Merchandise Award

The Brush Guys Merchandise Award II

Pennsylvania Watercolor Society Cash Award

Da Vinci Paint Co. Watercolor Traveler Merchandise Award

 Chris Krupinski, WV

HK Holbein Artist Materials Merchandise Award II

En Plein Air Pro Merchandise Award

Airfloat Systems Merchandise Certificate of Award

Edith Bergstrom Cash Award

 Laurin McCracken, TX

Turner Professional Watercolor Cash Award donated by Jerry's Artarama

Salis International Inc./Dr. Ph. Martin's Merchandise Award II

Turner Professional Watercolor Merchandise Award donated by Jerry's Artarama

Frame Destination Merchandise Award V

 David Giordan, MI

New Signature Members

Ingrid E. Albrecht

Kathleen Alexander

Mark D. Bird

Paula Fiebich

Jeffrey Good

Peggi Habets

Helen Hayes

Cody Heichel

Karen Heidler

Audrey Montgomery

Hugh Mossman

r. mike nichols

Jean Pederson

Thomas W. Schaller

David R. Smith

Sharon M. Stone

Kai-Ting Sung

Lian Mei Tsai

Bonnie Woods

NWS is committed to providing an accessible website. If you have difficulty accessing content, have difficulty viewing a file on the website, or notice any accessibility problems, please call us at 310-831-1099 to specify the nature of the accessibility issue and any assistive technology you use. NWS will strive to provide the content you need in the format you require.

The NWS Gallery Hours

By Appointment Only

915 South Pacific Avenue, San Pedro, CA 90731

NWS Gallery: 310-831-1099

NWS President: 424-888-3915


Members : Please login to the website and click  Board of Directors  to access email links of NWS Board Members. 

© 1920–2023 National Watercolor Society | All images on this site are the property of their respective owners. | All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software